Crazy Creepy Cool Movies – Clash of the Titans

Sword and sandals.  Again.  But at least this one has a winged horse and a mechanical owl.  It’s 1981’s Clash of the Titans on CCCM.   Listen, right click and download, or find us on Itunes or Stitcher.

 MP3 

CCCM is happy to be a part of Throwback Network.  Check them out for dozens of other great retro podcasts!

2 Responses to Crazy Creepy Cool Movies – Clash of the Titans

  1. robohara says:

    This was a big movie for me, too. Maybe not as big as Star Wars for me, but it was certainly up there.

    Did you have any of the toys? I had the Kraken, Pegasus, and a few of the action figures. I still have Charon. They were the same scale as Star Wars figures, so Charon stood in for the Emperor until they released that figure. Also my grandmother’s married name was McKracken but we always called her “Granny Kracken.”

    I was a huge Ray Harryhausen fan as a kid. I remember I had a couple of magazines that contained articles about him. I knew his work from the Sinbad and Jason and the Argonauts movies. The sword fighting skeletons are some of his greatest work other than Clash of the Titans. Clash of the Titans really marks the end of traditional stop motion. As you mentioned, it was replaced by Go Motion. In Go Motion, they use different techniques to “blur” each frame or every other frame to make the models look more fluid. Go motion was used for the tauntauns in The Empire Strikes Back in 1980 and Dragonslayer in 1981, so that was kind of the cut off. There are a few different ways of doing it, but most involve either moving the model or the camera while taking the picture. If you are interested in stop motion at all, there are two Ray Harryhausen documentaries. One is hosted by Leonard Nimoy and called Ray Harryhausen Chronicles (it’s on YouTube) and the other from 2011 is called Ray Harryhausen: Special Effects Titan.

    I haven’t seen this film in a while and may try to get the kids to watch it with me. I didn’t see the remake or the sequel. Bubo would have wanted it that way.

    • dougmccoy38 says:

      Yes, he would. The remake was atrocious, though I actually liked Wrath of the Titans. Saw a full size Bubo at a convention recently. Don’t think it was for sale, and I wouldn’t want it if it wasn’t fully functional!

Leave a Reply

